top of page
  • Writer's pictureJuliet

Part five: Reflection against assessment criteria

Demonstration of technical and visual skills – materials, techniques, observational skills, visual awareness, design and compositional skill (40%).


  • I think I have used a good variety of materials and techniques in this part of the course, learnt some new techniques and shown a certain level of mastery of others.

  • I think my observational skills have definitely improved during this course and I am learning to draw out of my observations elements that I can use in my own work.

  • My visual awareness and design and compositional skills are definitely improving, as evidenced by my final capsule collection.

Quality of outcome – content, application of knowledge, presentation of work in a

coherent manner, discernment, conceptualisation of thoughts, communication of ideas (20%).

  • I am definitely improving in these areas and am learning to trust my own judgement more in what I perceive to be good work, and developing ways of expressing the qualities that appeal to me.

  • I also feel that I am improving in the way I present my work and communicate my ideas.

Demonstration of creativity – imagination, experimentation, invention, development of a personal voice (20%).

  • I feel that I have experimented regularly, and that I am willing to go on a journey with the theme or material, rather than setting out with a particular outcome in mind.

  • I feel that my personal voice is also developing well.

Context – reflection, research, critical thinking (20%).

  • I think I have improved my skills in this area. Rather than risk being overcome by the amount of artists and work that could influence me, or a particular project, I prefer to look at one or two artists (such as Inga Liksaite and Matisse for Part 5) and analyse them more deeply, or choose elements of their practice to try in my own.

  • I try to reflect on my work regularly and think critically and analytically about which qualities appeal to me and why.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page