top of page
  • Writer's pictureJuliet

Part five: Written reflection

Reflect on what you have learned while developing your capsule collection from your work on the projects in this part of the course.

I have learned not to be scared of the sketchbook! I think it really helped for me to view it as a scrapbook initially, not trying to make it a work of art, but a place to collect ideas, reflect on my own work and that of the artists that I used as inspiration, group them in order to make sense of them, make connections, take ideas off in different directions.


I think that my tutor's suggestion of observing and redrawing my own work in my sketchbook was really helpful as a way of generating new ideas, and this really


I found it helpful to gather together and record ideas that were relevant, but that I didn't necessarily have time to develop more fully at the time; the sketchbook became a 'parking' place:



What went well and what went less well?

After thinking quite extensively about the archive item that I would use, I felt that I had made a good choice in the yellow silk robe, as it was a rich source of inspiration, crammed with imagery, motifs, different stitch and material qualities, history, geography and mix of cultures, all in one garment.


I think that some of my initial sketches were good, others less so, but I think that the time I spent with my archive item was well spent, as I used it also to brainstorm my ideas and put these into words, as well as recording the item in drawing, mark-making and photographically.


My mark-making was definitely stronger and therefore probably more useful for my later projects than the more conventional drawing that I did.



I think that letting myself work in a non-linear way for this part of the course - moving forward, but then coming back to earlier stages if necessary - also helped me produce some interesting outcomes.


It was also really helpful to keep in mind the words of Inga Liksaite, in order to stop myself prevaricating if I felt I couldn't progress because I didn't have the right stuff:


I used ordinary fabrics and minimal choices of yarns, paints, and brushes ... I used whatever I could get easily, and the rest was creativity.

I felt that the closer I got to the end of this part of the course and my supposed 'final' collection, the more I worried about the quality of the outcomes, so I really took to heart the part of the course guide that said:


Try not to treat these as ‘final’ in any way; rather, think of them as an opportunity to improve upon your experimental samples, perhaps refining and working towards perfecting techniques and finishes, and extending them into a bigger sample size.

Textiles 1: A Textiles Vocabulary. OCA, 2016; p. 139.


Now that you’ve come to the end of the course, what do you feel the strengths of your work are? What would you like to spend more time addressing?

I think that once I get started on a project I don't have a problem generating ideas, but sometimes find it hard to organise these ideas and know which ones to take forward.


I think that sometimes I tend to jump straight to the textile outcome, missing out intermediate stages, but I am not sure if this is a strength or a weakness.




Where are you going to go from here in your textiles practice?

I am planning to continue my studies and have already enrolled on Mixed Media for Textiles, which I am looking forward to starting soon. I would like to make contact with other artists and craftspeople in my local area and connect with work that others may already be doing. I am still exploring and moving towards defining my areas of interest, but have especially enjoyed printing and working with wire during A Textiles Vocabulary.



19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Part five: Reflection against assessment criteria

Demonstration of technical and visual skills – materials, techniques, observational skills, visual awareness, design and compositional skill (40%). I think I have used a good variety of materials and

bottom of page