top of page
  • Writer's pictureJuliet

Assignment four: Written reflection

Brief:

  • Write about what you’ve gained from observing and developing materials and textiles.e projects. Write about what you’ve gained from observing and developing materials and textiles. Write about what you feel the strengths of your work are and what you’d like to spend more time addressing.


I think that this part of the course has helped me embrace the possibilities of yarn and widen my understanding what materials can be used to develop yarns and how this can feed into the textile design process.


I have found it interesting that different source materials can lead to yarns that are sometimes very different and sometimes quite similar and that the same source material can lead to so many variations of outcome, depending on the emphasis.


I think that the strengths of my work for this part of the course are that I have responded in many different ways to each item of source material for the development of yarn. I think I have recorded my process quite well and presented my yarns in a sympathetic manner.


I also tend often to just dive straight in and experiment with the materials, which I see as a strength, rather than a weakness, as I feel it means I can take the work in any direction suggested by the materials, rather than feeling limited to carrying out something that I have already planned.


I think that one of my weaknesses may be not going far enough in my exploration of unusual or exciting materials and that this is something I could work on in the future.


I feel I am starting to address a weakness identified by my tutor in earlier assignments, by going back to the yarn developments and analysing them by drawing them.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Part five: Reflection against assessment criteria

Demonstration of technical and visual skills – materials, techniques, observational skills, visual awareness, design and compositional skill (40%). I think I have used a good variety of materials and

bottom of page