top of page
  • Writer's pictureJuliet

Project 5.2: Building a response: Developing yarn concepts

The brief here was to develop yarns and linear concepts that related to the emerging themes.


My first yarn emerged from ideas that came during some exploratory stitching work, as I thought about the spirals and connecting them in a linear way. This led to a dyeing experiment, coiling up string in my dyebath and adding dye in the form of Brusho watercolour paint solution:

This produced an irregular uptake of the dye on the yarn, which I then knitted in a way so as to create irregular loops and lines of stitch, in order to suggest the undulation of waves.


Next I referred back to some to earlier drawings and development from these, creating stranded and plied yarns which grew in scale and in my chosen colour scheme:






Here I explore in yarn the proportions of colour in my colour palette as represented in earlier drawings and responses, veering towards the cool and natural greens, blues and accents of yellow on the left and the warm and subtle sunshine colours on the right:


Here I explore in blue wire the crest of the wave motif that has recurred from my earlier sketches and textile concepts:


My yarn and linear concepts are seen below together and refer to earlier sketches, paper and textile concepts. The white stitching on the aquamarine ribbon refers to earlier stitch work on navy linen and the striped ribbon sewn into a wave motif reflects the ealier explorations of wave motifs:



6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Part five: Reflection against assessment criteria

Demonstration of technical and visual skills – materials, techniques, observational skills, visual awareness, design and compositional skill (40%). I think I have used a good variety of materials and

bottom of page