top of page
  • Writer's pictureJuliet

Review point: Demonstration of creativity

The assessment criteria ask for demonstration of creativity, in particular, imagination, experimentation, invention, development of a personal voice.


I think I have engaged deeply with Part 4 of the course which focuses on developing yarn concepts and designs.


I have gone above and beyond the original brief as the source materials I was using have suggested more than the three or four different approaches that were asked for in each exercise. I felt that I had more avenues that I wanted to explore and felt that this was a valuable and creative process.


Sometimes I found that these explorations took me to a dead end, other times I found that an idea for a yarn might not work out well for the current exercise, but could be used in a subsequent exploration, such some as the navy linen strips of fabric that I decoloured for Exercise 4.3, which actually turned out to be eminently suitable for Exercise 4.4.


I also found that while for 4.3 I developed a lot of base materials by deconstruction, it was then a process of selection to choose which of those to use to reconstruct into yarns. I think this demonstrates a level of experimentation and imagination.


I think I have been fairly inventive in this part of the course, although when I look at the blogs of other students, it seems that many of us have used similar materials, particularly for Exercise 4.3.


I have found it useful and interesting to take on board my tutor's suggestion of sketching and annotating my work after completing it, and I have added these to Assignment 4.


I think there are ways that I could be more creative and imaginative, perhaps in my research and in the way I record this. I could also be more active in my use of sketchbooks, and let this feed into my practice. Perhaps also in the way that I have photographed my samples also, but I do feel that the simple white background does set each yarn off to advantage.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Part five: Reflection against assessment criteria

Demonstration of technical and visual skills – materials, techniques, observational skills, visual awareness, design and compositional skill (40%). I think I have used a good variety of materials and

bottom of page